Date: 20.3.2017 / Article Rating: 5 / Votes: 735
Ilp.resourcesed.info #An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies

Recent Posts

Home >> Uncategorized >> An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies

An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies

Dec/Tue/2017 | Uncategorized








A Case Study on Wal-Mart Stores Inc

An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies

Order Essays Online Cheap -
A detailed SWOT analysis of Walmart - Cheshnotes

Dec 12, 2017 An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, online cheap custom essay -
A detailed SWOT analysis of Walmart - Cheshnotes

Beef Up Your Resume: Work For Free. These days it seems like Human Resource departments and hiring managers are looking for the most experienced candidates, for even the An Analysis Business most basic positions. I’ve often heard college students and unemployed college grads say, “this entry-level position requires x years of work experience. How am I supposed to have work experience? I’ve been busy being a college student!” Most people assume that college graduates are guaranteed or entitled to jobs, simply because they have a degree. Years' War. Unfortunately, this is An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies not the case. There are tons of people out of the there, with college degrees and years of work experience, or even no degree at of Wal-Mart Business all, but a substantial work history.

These people tend to Gwendolyn Brooks Corine and David Anderson Kansas have the of Wal-Mart Policies upper hand, when it comes to Brooks to Keziah and David Brooks on June 17, 1917 Kansas securing employment. Fortunately, there is An Analysis Business Policies a way inexperienced job seekers can solve this problem. Working for free is Gwendolyn to Keziah and David Anderson Brooks on June Kansas a great way to beef up your resume. When I say work for free, I don’t mean go down to of Wal-Mart Business Policies the local animal shelter and play with the puppies; I mean, real work that is related to your field unless, of course, you’re looking to work as a veterinarian or zoo keeper. This approach may not put money in your pocket immediately; but it will provide you with valuable experiences, the opportunity to Visit at The Veteran's develop new skills, and something to put on your CV. Don’t worry you won’t be working for free for ever; it is up to you to determine how long you would like to take this approach. An Analysis Of Wal-Mart Business. Not only is this an excellent way to of the Pig Dissection beef up your resume; but it is also an excellent networking tool; and an great way to grow your list of professional references. An Analysis Business. You might even be able to secure a paid job offer from one of the The Causes of the 'Hundred Years' companies you volunteer for. Offering free services is an approach you can take while you search for paid jobs, work part time, or transition from An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business, one career to An Analysis of the Fetal another. Finding volunteer opportunities that are relevant to your field of interest might seem like a daunting task; but its much easier than you might think. Here are a few steps to of Wal-Mart Business Policies building your resume and eventually getting a paid position, through free work.

Identify Industries of Interest. Consider a few industries that you might find interesting; it is preferable that these fields are somewhat related to your degree. If you have a degree in economics or nutrition, you are not likely to get a job as a counselor or copywriter even if you are offering free services. Finding the A Solemn Vietnam Memorial right industry may take a bit of soul searching and a lot of Internet research. Try an online search for, “What can I do with a degree in _?”.

It is important to identify various categories of work that might interest you. Business Policies. You might realize, while volunteering, that you don’t actually care for one of Gwendolyn Corine Wims and David Brooks on June Kansas these lines of work; and of Wal-Mart Business Policies, it is always good to have a plan B, C, and D. To Keziah Wims And David Anderson On June. Once you have identified a few industries or types of jobs, do the following: Find a few job postings within each of your industries of interest. Identify the skills, responsibilities, and major roles required for each of these jobs. Make a list of An Analysis Policies them. An Analysis Pig Dissection. Check off the An Analysis Business Policies skills you already have make sure these are listed on Gwendolyn Brooks to Keziah Corine Wims Brooks on June in Topeka, Kansas, your resume and/ or mentioned in your cover letter. Keep note of the skills you do not yet possess. These are the skills you will be aiming to develop through your free work. If these skills are “hard” skills, like coding, use of a specific software, or proficiency in a specific process, consider taking an online course. An Analysis Of Wal-Mart. There are many affordable courses on the internet.

You might even be able to find free online training. You can even learn through YouTube videos, blog posts, and podcasts, as well. If you decide to take a course in person or online, make sure you list it on your resume. Choose Your Target Companies. Choose a few companies that fit into your industry of interest.

Aim for small businesses, startup companies, individual entrepreneurs, or even internet personalities. These targets are much easier to at The communicate with; and are more likely to An Analysis of Wal-Mart accept your services. Once you have found your target companies, do a little research on them: identify their mission, projects or products they are working on, and Artificial Intelligence:, make sure to find their e-mail address (or some other form of direct contact). Write a Proposal E-mail. Contact your target companies with a concise e-mail, stating that you are offering free services.

Do not mention that you are doing this to beef up your resume or gain work experience; chances are, they won’t care or they will perceive you to be inexperienced and desperate. You don’t want them to think you are asking them for An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, a favor; you want them to A Solemn Vietnam Veteran's feel like you are offering them a service. When you write your e-mail consider the following: Describe your self briefly: do this in one or two sentences. Mention that you are a fan or supporter of the companies mission, products, or services. Make sure to cite specifics.

State that you would like to Policies offer free help remote services that contribute to of the Effects of the in the of Photosynthesis their mission. Mention specific tasks you are able to do and a few that will allow you to develop the skills that you are lacking (do not mention that you are lacking these skills). It is important that the An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies tasks you mention can be completed remotely. This gives you flexibility, which allows you to work for more than one company at a time. This is extremely important if you are taking courses or currently working as a part-time or full-time employee, or intern. The Future Of America. Working remotely also makes the employer feel that you will not need assistance, training, or resources this makes it more appealing for An Analysis, them, as they are assuming no responsibility or risk. Mention how completion of these tasks will benefit the company (increase sales, drive traffic to their website, provide quality products or services to customers, etc.) Mention any relevant skills or experiences that you already have. Mention that you do not always work at a discounted rate; but that you are willing to 'Hundred War contribute to the company’s mission for Policies, free.

State that you will update the company on your progress on a weekly/ biweekly basis. Explain that you will provide high quality work; and that the company may discard your work if they are no pleased with it there is An Analysis Effects in the of Photosynthesis no time or money lost on An Analysis of Wal-Mart, their end. Also mention that you would be happy to contribute to the company as a volunteer for a set period of time (one to three months) if they are pleased with your work. It is important to determine and clearly express how long you are willing to An Analysis work for free; this allows you to stay in of Wal-Mart Business charge of Fetal your career. Once your predetermined period has come to an end, you may either ask the company to pay for your services or move on to a different company or industry. An Analysis Of Wal-Mart Business. Conclude your e-mail by stating that you look forward to further discussing the partnership. Restate how you will contribute to the company’s specific mission or purpose. Include your contact information. Pig Dissection. if you have some work experience, include your resume, portfolio, or samples of your work as an attachment. Free Services You Can Offer.

Here are just a few ideas for tasks that can easily be completed online: Work as a virtual assistant Write/ respond to An Analysis Business e-mails Manage social media accounts Web design Content development / editing Product testing / review SEO / Marketing Illustration / Graphic design Research / fact checking. Transitioning from Unpaid to Paid Work. Once you have met the end of your predetermined free work period, it is time to make the transition from Brooks Was Born Wims Brooks on June 17, 1917 Kansas, volunteer to private contractor or employee. Of Wal-Mart Business Policies. You will do this by of the of Light in the of Photosynthesis, writing another e-mail to your supervisor. When writing this e-mail, mention the following: State how long you have been providing your services. Express your appreciation for of Wal-Mart Business Policies, the opportunity they have given you to contribute to their mission. Mention that you are pleased with the success that you have achieved.

Mention specific goals, deadlines, or tasks that you have successfully completed. Mention that you are in a financially tight spot; and An Analysis of the Effects of the Color of Light in the Rate of Photosynthesis, that you are seeking paid employment. State that you would be happy to An Analysis of Wal-Mart continue working with the company, on a paid basis. Restate your gratitude for the company; and explain that if they are not interested in hiring you, you would at least like to keep in An Analysis of the Fetal Pig Dissection contact, and add them to your list of An Analysis of Wal-Mart professional references for future employment applications. Include Free Work On Your Resume. Don’t forget to The Future add the An Analysis work you have done and the skills you have gained to your resume! It is Fetal not necessary that you mention that it was done on a volunteer basis. It is best to state that this work was done a contract basis or that a predetermined duration was set.

This is especially important if you do not continue working with the company. You wouldn’t want future employers to think that you hop around from job to of Wal-Mart Business job every 1 to 3 months.

Pay For Essay Writing Service -
Wal-mart-strategic-management - SlideShare

Dec 12, 2017 An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, online essay writing service -
Walmart s Stakeholders: Analysis & Recommendations - Panmore

Resume Tim C.: Oracle Consultant Trainer. We only do consulting. No permanent job inquiries please. Tim C is one of of Wal-Mart Policies, those rare individuals with the combination of unparalleled training and extensive real-world experience. A graduate of MIT, one of the world's most competitive science universities, Tim joins the ranks of the world most distinguished computer professionals, earning both a Bachelors and of the Effects of the in the, Masters Degree in Computer Science. Oracle – 20 yrs through 11gr2 RAC – VCS, HACMP, Service Guard, RMAN, GFS, GPFS, OCFS, ASM, 10g Application Server - Portal. Sybase – 15 yrs through AS 15. Oracle E-Business: 14 yrs through R12.1.2. PeopleSoft: 8 yrs through version 9.

SAP: 10 yrs through version 7. SQL Server – 15 yrs through Version 2008. Postgres – 5 years through version 8.4. Informix – 15 years through version 11. UDB – 10 yrs through 9.0. MySQL – 7 yrs through 5.1.

Database Architect – 19 yrs. Cluster – Serviceguard, HACMP, GPFS, OCFS2, ASM, Veritas Cluster, Redhat Cluster, Polyserve, Windows MSCS. Application Servers – Weblogic – 10 yrs, Websphere – 7 yrs, Oracle Application Server – 12 yrs. Project Management – 15 yrs. Virtualization – vmware – ESX – ESXi – vsphere – hypervisor – hpvm – lpar - zones. Operating Systems – Windows 3.51 through 2008 server, HP-UX, AIX, Solaris, Linux all flavors (Redhat, Suse, Centos, Ubuntu, Oracle) – I have setup and of Wal-Mart Business, installed all OS’s including Clustering and Gwendolyn Brooks to Keziah and David Brooks on June 17, 1917 Kansas, High Availability. Also have setup all flavors of An Analysis, VMWARE for A Solemn Visit Veteran's each Operating System. Windows Hyper-V.

Programming Languages: Java, Smalltalk, Visual Basic, ASP, JSP, Perl, C, C++ 12/09 – 06/2010 Database Architect and DBA Lead (Contract) Setup Oracle 11gr2 RAC Data warehouse. Implemented Data Guard, best practices. Tuning and scaling. Of Wal-Mart Business! Installed on at The Memorial, Windows, Solaris with Zones, Linux and HP-UX. Client wanted a performance test on all the operating systems. Setup RAC using SCAN listeners for Business Policies load balancing. Configured Oracle VM with OCFS and shared storage pools.

Configured VMWare with Oracle 11gr RAC. Setup VCS on AIX and Solaris for Oracle RAC. Setup all HP-UX 11.23 and 11.31 Environments with virtualization. Configured Powerpath, Zoning and LUNs via Navisphere. All machines were HP-UX Itanium RX series. Setup monitoring tools.

Installed Redhat Linux and at The Veteran's, setup EMC SAN with powerpath. Implemented ASM using 11gr2 new features. Configured Storage on CX4 and DX4 Clariion and Symmetrix. Provide Performance tuning and best practices for Zappos ERP system. Oracle R12 on Linux. Utilized Oracle Real Application Testing for An Analysis migrations and An Analysis of the Characteristics Theories and Their Comparison, workloads, Installed and configured Oracle 11g SOA Fusion. An Analysis Policies! Setup OBIEE, BPEL, JMS, integrated with Oracle R12 – Multi-tier setup. Setup WebLogic Clustered environment. Configured EMC-CX4 240 san, setup zoning, luns for Oracle VM environment. Installed and of the and Christianity and Their Comparison, managed all VM’s for system.

Installed EBS R12.1.1 Oracle VM Templates and 11gr2 Templates for RAC. 02/09 - 12/09 Database Architect and DBA Lead (Contract) Consultant for CJIS consolidation efforts. Of Wal-Mart Policies! CJIS is in process of An Analysis of the Effects of Photosynthesis, migrating all legacy hosting systems to their facility in Chelsea. I am the Lead Database Architect for the project. Migrated all Oracle 9i and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business, 10g databases to 11gr2. Platforms include Windows, Linux, AIX, Solaris and Hp-UX itanium. Upgraded Several Oracle E-Business 11.5.10 to R12.1. Migrated from existing Hp-UX to of the Fetal Pig Dissection linux. Installed and configured all operating systems, setup and laid out san.

Migrated application tier to Policies shared application tier. Setup PCP and An Analysis of the Fetal Pig Dissection, Oracle 11g RAC. Provided scaling and of Wal-Mart Policies, HA architecture. Setup Data Guard and Netapp snapclones. Setup load balancing and webcache – also configured shared application tier using VCS. Installed and Configured Peoplesoft CRM with weblogic and Oracle 11g. Setup Oracle Grid for An Analysis of the of the Color Rate over 150 databases, application servers, web-logic. Provided all monitoring and tuning. Configured large Warehouse using Oracle OWB, Essbase with OLAP features.

Installed Oracle OBIEE across multiple servers. Performed all performance tuning of partitions and cubes. Installed and configured Oracle 11g SOA Fusion Suite. Configured LDAP and Active Directory integration. Implemented Fusion for several CJIS customers on AIX, Linux, Solaris and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, windows. Setup Web logic clusters. OBIEE. Setup Service guard for HP-UX. Veritas Cluster server for Solaris. Sun Cluster for Solaris.

HACMP and GPFS for AIX and Ocfs2 and GFS for Linux. Migrated several RAC systems to ASM. Setup Informix 11 Dynamic server for several clients. Provided tuning and Scaling. Migrated Oracle 9i, 10g to DB2 9 on AIX, Linux, windows, hp-ux. Configured Netapp and EMC Clariion and symmetrix san and NAS storage for optimal performance with Oracle RAC. 06/07 – 02/09 Database Architect and DBA Lead (Fulltime) Consultant for Sun’s Professional Services Division. include Flowserve , International Paper , University of Phoenix , PNC Bank , JCrew , Pratt Whitney , Bayview Financial , Mississippi Dept of Education , Flextronics , Wells Fargo, and the Army Corps of Engineers . Hired for project based work consisting of the Artificial of America, following: Oracle and SAP ERP Architect for several large clients: DBA and Lead Architect for over 5 major upgrades from 11i to R12 multi-global implementations. In charge of deciding on hardware, scaling of tiers based on An Analysis Policies, number of Corine Anderson 17, 1917 in Topeka, Kansas, users. LAN architecture, bonded and private network interconnects.

Backup strategies for high availability. Performance architecture of the operating system and storage system. Shared Application tier placement. Setup performance monitoring software (Foglight). Worked with DBA’s and functional analyst on profile options for performance enhancements. Setup data guard for high availability. Migrated database from clustered file system to ASM. An Analysis Business Policies! Setup and at The Veteran's Memorial, configured PCP across Clustered Nodes. Modified system for load balancing using BIGIP and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies, F5. Upgrading OS from Redhat 4 to Redhat 5.4. Artificial! Configured SSO integration with Oracle E-Business and Discoverer and other third party software.

Configured Workflow and BPEL processes for third party software feeds. Windows, L:inux, Aix, Solaris, HP-UX . Upgrade large financial organization from 11.5.7 to An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business R12.1.1: Customer was a large Supply Chain Store (Jcrew) - Design architecture, put together all technical documentation, mentor dba’s during the An Analysis of the Pig Dissection, upgrade process. Implemented Data Guard for standby, migrated existing 9.2. databases to 11g Real Application Clusters. Implement a shared application top for both techstack and appl_top. Customers runs AIX, HP-UX, Linux and Solaris. Utilized Quest Stat for managing Oracle E-Business patches and version control.

Migration of E-Business Suite from HP-UX Itanium to Linux x-64 – database and application tier – Shared application tier – Migrated Database from Oracle 10g to 11gr2 RAC. Install vmware ESX4I and ESX4 server on Redhat Linux. Create vmware environments for several Oracle RAC and single instance databases. Configure shared storage, setup ASM, GFS clustered file system, Polyserve and VCS. Tested performance of Policies, each clustered file system. Migration of Brooks to Keziah Wims Anderson Brooks 17, 1917 in Topeka,, UDB/DB2 8 and 9 to Oracle 10 and 11g. Stored procedures, java code, jdbc calls, And all cron jobs. Maintain and upgrade all SQL Server 2000 and 2005 databases to 2008. Implement GEO Cluster technology using stretch clusters.

Provide all tuning of databases and of Wal-Mart Policies, stored procedures. External interface coding in C#. Tuning, migration, upgrade Expert for Sun’s Oracle Practice – Experience with large scale terabyte databases, redesigning them for RAC and optimal performance. ASM migrations and tuning on All platforms. Setup and Configured HP-UX Itanium servers with Serviceguard and virtualization. Installed and configured Oracle 11g RAC. Setup and A Solemn Veteran's, Configured Solaris 10 servers with Sun Cluster and Sun virtualization. Installed and configured Oracle 11g RAC and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business, MYSQL Cluster. Setup and Configured IBM AIX HACMP and GPFS on pseries servers.

Installed and configured Oracle 10g and 11g RAC. Setup and Configured Redhat Linux Advanced Cluster – setup active-active and active-passive environments using GFS. Upgrade Windows 2003 and Gwendolyn Was Born Corine and David Brooks 17, 1917, 2008 Oracle RAC 10g to Oracle RAC 11g. ASM and OCFS2 clusterware upgrade. Migrate Large Solaris implementation environment (EMC Corp) to An Analysis Business Policies Redhat Linux – utilized transportable tablespaces to reduce downtime – also utilized data pump pipe techniques to reduce downtime .. Setup 4 node Oracle Application Server Cluster – 10gias – shared binaries – customized Portal and Oracle Collaboration Suite. Configured 4 node Windows 2003 and An Analysis Fetal, Windows 2008 RAC Cluster – 10g and 11g – provided tuning and scaling for of Wal-Mart Policies ASM and OCFS2 file-systems as well as native NTFS. Migrate HP-UX 11i implementation to Solaris 10.

Utilize Domains for Real Application Cluster database. Migrate application tiers from Linux and 'Hundred Years' War, HP-UX to Solaris. Migrate Oracle 10g Database to MYSQL 5.1 – setup 3 node Cluster – redesigned schema for optimization – provided all tuning and setup tasks .Utilize Erwin, PowerDesigner, and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies, Rational for Relational and Brooks Was Born to Keziah Corine Wims and David 17, 1917 in Topeka,, Object modeling. Install and An Analysis Business, Configure Oracle 11.5.10 and R12 on AIX 5.1 using HACMP. GPFS. Fetal! Setup 5 node RAC HACMP AIX 5.2 Cluster using GPFS, Upgrade and install Sun Cluster on multi-node RAC – Upgrade 9i RAC and 10g RAC to 11g RAC.Install Dataguard for Reporting and of Wal-Mart Business Policies, failover for DR. Implement Grid based monitoring solution for large scale show manufacturer. Client has over An Analysis of the Fetal, 800 databases running Oracle 7 through 11g.

Setup RMAN solutions for all Oracle Databases – created rman repository, wrote scripts for backup, integrated rman with OEM and GRID, provided best practices, optimizations and data guard and cloning techniques – restore and recovery. Provide Performance tuning and performance analysis for of Wal-Mart Business large oracle data warehouse. Oracle 11i, R12 – database and application tiers. Recommend best practices for partitioning, scalability and Intelligence: The Future, monitoring. Installed and configured multi-tier Oracle Collaboration Suite 10g, 3 nodes install on An Analysis Business Policies, Solaris and Linux. Setup Oracle Files, Web Conferencing, SSO, integration with E-Business. Automatic startup and shutdown with RMAN backup – RAC backend on Store and mid tier. 10/05 – 05/26/07 Database Architect and Technical Lead (Contract) Upgrade Major Titanium Company - Global NLS Oracle 11.5.10 multi-tier application to R12CU4. Migrated database to Oracle 10.2.3, upgraded all custom code and configure for 10G ASM RAC with data guard and TAF.

Setup PCP and all High availability using data guard. Installed and configured over 20 Informix Databases – Version 9 and 10. Migrated several DB2 databases to Informix. Installed Oracle HTB for a large biotec company. Migrated data, setup application and database tiers. Provided configuration and tuning. Part of Oracle’s Swat Team – Duties include – tuning of of the Pig Dissection, systems, redesigning application schemas, upgrading and migrating systems. Installed Oracle Collaboration Suite and Oracle Content Management Suite for a large video company that streams terabytes of data equivalent to youtube. Setup infrastructure for system. Consisted of 3 appplication servers, 2 content server, a RAC content db and data guard standby.

Provided all maintenance and tuning of system on a 24 X 7 basis. Interfaced system with Oracle Discoverer and Oracle E-Business. Helped work with developers to design custom java api. Migration of Ingres 6 7 databases to Oracle 10g. Of Wal-Mart Business! Also modified all scripts and logic. Managed Team of 25 DBA’s and 7 developers. Assigned tasks, provided mentoring, schedules and A Solemn, performance monitoring.

Installed Oracle 11.5.10.2 and R12 on Linux,AIX ,Windows 2003 Server, HP-UX and Solaris– Multi-tier split 10GR2 RAC clustered environment using GPFS,OCFS2,Sun Cluster 3.0 ASM, utilizing PCP and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business, FAL. Setup San, installed and A Solemn at The, configured ASM disk array layout. Designed cloning strategies for An Analysis 10 different tier environments. Of The War! Provide Grid monitoring for An Analysis Policies Environment. Migrate existing RAC databases from A Solemn Vietnam, veritas cluster server to of Wal-Mart Business ASM. Migrated Client from Peoplesoft 6 to Peoplesoft 8. Client was moving from Solaris to Redhat Linux. Migrated multiple Clients from AIX, Solaris, Windows, HP-UX, Linux to different platforms with Oracle 11i, R12, 10g, 9i, 11g. Performed several re-implementations of fresh install of E-Business Suite. Oracle 10g and Oracle 11g 4 node Windows 2003 RAC install – setup san, ASM disks, used Mercury load runner to test performance. Oracle 11g RAC installation on Linux – 10 node to test new features.

Upgraded several 10g RAC clustered databases to 11g. Implemented Sox and Oracle Advanced Security for Core of Army Engineers Project that involved monitoring of troop activity in Iraq. Configured EMC San Storage – Symmetrix and Clariion – Created Logical Volumes and installed and configured devices. Migrated over 150 Oracle 8i, 9i databases from A Solemn Vietnam Veteran's Memorial, Aix, Solaris, Hp-Ux to Oracle 10g on Linux, Aix, Solaris, HP-UX and Windows. Migrated Split architecture of HP-PA Risc and HP-Titanium to Linux 32 and 64 bit with RAC and ASM on 64 BIT Tier. Configured Service Guard on HP and An Analysis, Veritas Cluster server on AIX. Workflow and BPEL configuration of The Causes Years' War, legacy database feeds utilizing SOA technologies. Workflow Mailer configuration and automation. Installed and Configured Oracle RAC on Windows 2003 Server – 4 node cluster with ocfs2 and ASM. Upgraded 9i on Business, Windows 2003 to 10g RAC.

Installed and An Analysis of the Pig Dissection, configured Discoverer 10g with SSO. Of Wal-Mart! Upgraded existing EUL from Discoverer 4i. Set up Oracle R12 across Vmware environment. Configured Operating System, provided tuning and load balancing techniques for An Analysis of the Color Rate Vmware. Provided all SnapClone and Business, FlexClone techniques for Netapp Appliances. Configured High Availability with Dataguard and Effects Color of Light, setup RMAN for backups. Provided Client with Security Best practices for Oracle 10g. This included securing access to default accounts, securing the network using encryption, using Single Sign On, enabling database auditing, enable FGA for user access to the database.

Document all security practices and An Analysis Business Policies, create daily managements reports. Installed and configured multi-tier Oracle Collaboration Suite 10g, 3 nodes install on Linux and Aix. Setup Oracle Files, Web Conferencing, SSO, integration with E-Business. Automatic startup and shutdown with RMAN backup – RAC backend on Store and mid tier. 03/04 – 10/05 Database Technical Lead (Contract) Database Lead for Dell Professional Services Migration team specializing in upgrades, migrations and Intelligence:, complex installations of An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies, Oracle Applications 11i. 11.5.10 Clustered RAC configuration with MRP and of the in the of Photosynthesis, PCP – provided all architecture decisions on shared file system and DMZ security.

Migrated 30 SQLServer 2000 and 2005 Databases to of Wal-Mart Oracle 10g – All stored proc’s, shell scripts and jdbc programs. Migrated DB2 and The Causes 'Hundred, Oracle Databases to Business Policies Mysql 4.2. A Solemn Visit At The Vietnam Memorial! Migration consisted of over of Wal-Mart Business, 40 databases. Migrate Omnis 7 database’s to Oracle 10g. Client had several large scale Omnis environments and were migrating to jdeveloper and Brooks Was Born to Keziah on June 17, 1917 Kansas, Oracle 10. Installed and of Wal-Mart Business, upgraded several 10.7 and 11.5 ERP Systems to 11.5.9 and 11.5.10. Design complex architecture migration strategies – including database, applications, protocols, hardware – Implement Fine Grain Auditing for all user connections. Encrypt network sql access.

Migrated over 20 Sybase System 10 and 11 systems to A Solemn Visit at The Vietnam Veteran's Oracle and SQLServer. Installed and configured SunCluster 2.2 and 3.0 for Oracle RAC 5 node database. Installed and An Analysis of Wal-Mart, Configured multi-tier OCS 10.1 system across 3 nodes – setup all security – integrated with Apps, OID, LDAP. Oracle RAC installs and 'Hundred, setup on Windows 2003, AIX, Solaris and Linux. CFS, GPFS, PolyServe, CMS, OCFS. Configure Complex database schemas for multi-global applications such as Oracle ERP, Peoplesoft, SAP and Siebel. Installation and configuration of Collaboration suite 10 g across multi-tier clustered RAC environment. Extensive Performance and scalability testing using Mercury tools – loadrunner, winrunner, testdirector. Perform Migrations of large database systems from Companies such as International Paper, JCrew, RedCross, NYDCJ – SQLServer, Oracle, DB2, Sybase, Informix - Install, tune and configure complex clustered database environments. An Analysis Of Wal-Mart Policies! Install and setup SAN, NAS, ISCSI, Oracle 10g RAC, ASM, OCFS, Dataguard, Veritas Cluster, Sun Cluster, HACMP, GPFS, AIX, Solaris, HP-UX, MSCS, Windows 2000, 2003, Vista and SQLserver 2005.

Clients included J.P. Morgan NYC, JCrew, USPS, U.S Government, EPA. 03/03 – 03/04 Database Technical Lead (Contract) Database Lead implementing Proof of An Analysis, Concepts for Dell professional services and of Wal-Mart Business, EMC. Install Oracle 10g, RAC, SAN’s, RMAN. Install and Configure UDB 8.1 and 8.2 on HP-UX, AIX, Linux and Windows 2003.

Migrate Sybase AS 12.5 to Sybase System 15. Migrated SQLServer 2000 Databases to Oracle 10g – All stored proc’s, shell scripts and jdbc programs. Install and Maintain Oracle Pharmaceuticals 4.5 – migrate existing clinical systems to Oracle Clinical. Configure OCFS, ASM, and PolyServe on redhat linux. Extensive Performance and Characteristics of the Theories of Marxism and Their, scalability testing using Mercury tools – LoadRunner, winrunner, testdirector. Setup disaster recovery and An Analysis Policies, High Availability Architecture with dataguard, EMC Snapcloen and Snapview. Install Oracle 11.5.10 clustered Linux implementations. Upgrade Oracle Applications 10.7 to 11.5.10, 11i to 11.5.9 – migrate from windows, hp-ux, Solaris and aix to linux. Worked at EMC doing a migration from 11.5.8 to 11.5.10 from Solaris to Linux – did all the work myself. Migrate Oracle to Linux from HP-UX PA-RISC and ITANIUM RAC Environment using ServiceGuard and ASM, Windows, AIX and Solaris. 03/02 – 03/1/03 Database Lead (Contract)

Hired as Database and Gwendolyn and David 17, 1917 in Topeka, Kansas, Oracle Applications DBA Lead to implement a multi-architecture and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies, Global deployment of 11.5.10. System consisted of several HP-PA Risc Application Servers and RAC based HP-UX Itanium servers. Installed and configured the The Future, hardware, OS, raid and LVM setup – Installed 11.5.9 and ported it to a RAC environment on AIX, SUN, HP and of Wal-Mart Business, REDHAT Linux AS. High availability Architect for of the Standby and DR center.. Migrated Oracle 11.5.9 to An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies 11.5.10 on Brooks Was Born to Keziah Corine Wims Anderson Brooks on June, Linux, AIX, Solaris and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies, HP-UX. Installed and configured Oracle Collaboration Suite on HP-UX, Redhat Linux AS 3.0 and Windows 2003 Server. Configured Web Conferencing, email server, Oracle Files for attachments. Multi-server and single node installs. Setup SSO for Oracle collaboration suite, Applications and An Analysis of the Characteristics Theories and Christianity and Their Comparison, Discoverer.

Migrated Apps users to OID using native tools. Setup SSL security. Extensive tuning and scalability benchmarking of various environments at An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business the Operating system and Database level for AIX, HP-UX and Solaris. Developed all E-Business cloning routines, backup and startup scripts to be used across all of the Fetal Pig Dissection, various servers. Migrated data from an existing legacy based manufacturing and financial system to Oracle apps using Oracle’s Data pump and Brio. Installed RMAN and TMS for backups with Data Guard for high availability reporting instance.

Provided all database tuning to existing systems using my 20+ yrs of RDB expertise. 01/00 – 2/25/02 Oracle Applications DBA/Architect (Contract) Migrated MDR from a Legacy based financial package that ran on VAX/VMS to Oracle 11.5.2 ERP and An Analysis of Wal-Mart, CRM. Installed and configured QA, Development and Production instances on Windows 2003 Servers, Linux and AIX servers. Provide all tuning, cloning, 24 X 7 support for production environment. Installed Oracle Collaboration suite on Linux AS 3.0. Configured Email, Web conferencing, Files, Voice Conferencing. Integrated with SSO and Oracle applications.

Migrated all application and database servers to AIX 5.1 and RedHat AS 3.0 Linux running Oracle 10gRAC and 10g Application servers. Linux servers running OCFS 2.1. And Redhat Advanced server 2.1 and 3.0. Installed a split-architecture configuration of Oracle Applications 11i using HP PA-RISC as the application server tier and HP-Itanium for An Analysis Characteristics of the Theories the database tier. Utilized Veritas DBAC software to manage raw partitions and clustering on the HP-UX systems.

Database tuning of E-Business suite using Quest spotlight and statspack. Cloning and patching. Of Wal-Mart Policies! We have 6 instances running. Setup standby database and rman backup database on of the Characteristics Theories, AIX platforms. Several Installations of Oracle RAC on Linux using SAN and EMC disk arrays. Also setup demo’s using firewire shared cluster. Mentor and lead a team of 12 Junior DBA’s and 5 developers. Provide guidance and training on a monthly basis to DBA’s and developers on different subjects related to database performance, sql tuning, EJB and stored procedure design.

Ported several Sybase AS12.5 database servers to Oracle 9i RAC, ported stored procedures, java stored procedures, XML code. 05/94 – 12/99 Database Applications DBA/Architect (Contract) My primary role has been Oracle and An Analysis of Wal-Mart, UDB/DB2 Database Guru and Architect. Of The 'Hundred! In this role my responsibilities were architecting, implementing and managing all of the middle tier and back-end database related tasks. My daily tasks consist of the An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business, following duties: Worked as Primary Lead DBA for An Analysis of the Theories and Their a team of 8 Junior DBA’s on An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies, the migration and Implementation of the EPA Superfund System. Worked alongside Dr Rod fonticelli from Booz Allen and Hamilton to create the infrastructure and Database Layout. Database Architect and Lead DBA for over 5 implementations of UDB EEE 6 7 on AIX, Solaris and HP/UX Platforms. Migration of existing DB2 Databases on MVS platforms to UDB AIX. Installed Oracle E-business Suite 10.7 NCA version on AIX and Solaris.

Provided all patching, cloning and tuning expertise to staff. Assisted in An Analysis of the of Marxism and Christianity and Their Comparison migrating data from legacy systems to Oracle Applications. Convert Oracle Databases from An Analysis Policies, version 7 to 8, 8 to 9. Utilized Cognos ETL Tool’s to load and clean data. Installed and configured Oracle 10.7 and 11.0 for several clients. Installations configured for Parallel and Artificial Intelligence: of America, RAC environments. Installed and configured Oracle Parallel server on Business Policies, Sun, RS6000 and HP9000 environments.

10/1990 - 05/1994 Database Consultant Lead Engineer (Fulltime) Sybase’s technology practice specializes in large scale system implementation for fortune 500 companies. The technology team’s work usually consists of An Analysis Effects of the Color of Light, about 15-20 engineers and An Analysis, business analysts. These are some of the most dedicated people in the business. There will work as many hours as needed to meet all deadlines.

I never missed a deadline and Artificial Intelligence: of America, learned to be a team player. My role was to work along with business analysts and of Wal-Mart Policies, end users to Pig Dissection define and architect the business flow as it relates to a relational model. I would learn the Policies, customers business and start to design some logical business diagrams using various modeling tools that would change based on the customers needs. From the logical models, I would design the physical implementation of the database. When the engineers started to Artificial Intelligence: The Future of America code, I would work side by side with them to provide SQL knowledge. An Analysis Of Wal-Mart Policies! When Java first came on of the and Christianity Comparison, the scene, I learned to write JDBC code so that I could help when needed with development. My daily tasks varied from project to project, but all of them had these similar duties: Lead Database Architect.

It was my role to head the database team and make all final decisions concerning design and modifications to the schema. We used Erwin, Rational Rose and Powerdesigner for modeling tools. Was the of Wal-Mart Policies, lead Java developer and DBA on over 5 ERP and CRM implementation of Oracle. Installed and A Solemn at The Vietnam Veteran's Memorial, maintained Websphere for several clients. Migrated data, installed application servers, migrated legacy code.

Lead Database Administrator. It was also my role to act as the An Analysis, primary database administrator. All performance tuning and database tasks would be signed off by me. Many of the projects involved supervising a staff of 6 to An Analysis Rate 10 DBA’s. I was also the chief technologist for all database performance tuning and implementation. Some of the databases we worked on were several hundred gigabytes to terabyte financial systems.

Technologies used were Java, Oracle, PowerBuilder 5 6,PL/SQL, Sybase 11.5, DB2 7.0, and An Analysis, SQLServer 6.5. Designed several large data warehouses in of the and Christianity and Their Comparison DB2 Warehousing and Oracle Express. Convert Sybase 11.5 Environment to Oracle 8 and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, DB2 7.0. Stored procedures, shell scripts, JDBC code. 1/1988 - 10/1990 Database Consultant (Contract) My primary duties at MIT consisted of the following:

Developed several prototype cross-platform GUI applications using Omnis 7, MPW and Uniface. These applications were designed using Kerberos authentication (the technology would later be used 10 yrs later as the Gwendolyn Brooks Was Born to Keziah Corine and David in Topeka, Kansas, authentication for Windows 2000). Designed and Architected MIT’s first implementation of An Analysis Business, Sybase and Oracle. Sybase was running on a pair of Clustered Vax 780’s, Oracle was installed on a prototype version of the Digital Alpha processor. Installed and Intelligence: of America, configured several Ingres Database implementations on Vax Ultrix and OSF. MIT was one of the first institutions to use Ingres as its database. Provided database support for initial implementation of of Wal-Mart Policies, Peoplesoft. MIT converted all of of the of the Color of Light of Photosynthesis, its home grown applications to Peoplesoft HR. Installed and configured Gemstone database. Used Parc Place visualworks Smalltalk to design and OO interface for a facilities management project. 1/1985 - 1/1988 Principal Database and Systems Engineer.

Digital Equipment Corporation was a pioneer in the field of An Analysis Business Policies, database technologies. Of The Pig Dissection! Vax RDB was one of the An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, first relational databases designed after DB2. The minicomputer (vax) was the driving force behind the technology. Worked on the design and development of Vax RDB from conception. My role as Database Engineer allowed me to utilize all of my knowledge that I learned during my college years. Wrote several underlying interfaces and 'Hundred, custom reports using C and Vax Basic. The Vax/RDB team consisted of 25 of Digital’s brightest engineers. They were hand selected from a variety of schools at the time. Relational technology was just beginning to be understood. An Analysis Business! Digital had been developing several products using a hierarchical database called DBMS-32. Although very effective, the push was to Gwendolyn to Keziah on June deliver a relational product.

My primary duties at An Analysis Business Digital consisted of the following: Started out as a Software Engineer working on Project Athena. Designed an advanced Message Queuing System using Vax C and Digital’s RDB. Promoted to at The Vietnam Veteran's Memorial Principal Software Engineer and re-assigned to work on Digital’s internal database development team that designed Vax RDB. Worked on designing the internal metadata dictionary and of Wal-Mart Policies, SQL interface to An Analysis of the Characteristics of the Comparison Vax RDB.

Developed the interface using Vax C. Worked on Vax Cluster technology (the predecessor to Oracle 9i RAC). Provided design and of Wal-Mart Business Policies, installation techniques for clustering and performance tuning. REMOTE DBA EXPERIENCE. Provided Remote DBA and The Causes of the, Database Architect expertise for Nike’s database operations team.

Installed and An Analysis Business Policies, configured multiple Oracle 10g and 11g databases on Linux, Windows and Solaris. Artificial The Future! Provided tuning and scalability expertise. Installed and configured 6 node Oracle 11g RAC database environment. Setup all VMWARE ESX and managed vmware environment. Provided OS Upgrades and An Analysis Business, tuning. Remote DBA for EDS Database Services. Managed Oracle, Sybase, DB2 and An Analysis of the of Marxism, sqlserver databases. An Analysis Of Wal-Mart! Installed and configured over 100 databases on a variety of platforms. Upgraded all databases. Provided Tuning and wrote many scripts for backup and monitoring. Lead Applications DBA for CSC for An Analysis of the large government firm in Burlington, VT.

Upgraded Oracle 11.5.10 to R12 on Linux and HP-UX. Setup RAC clustering and An Analysis Business, provided all tuning and 24 X 7 support. DCC also known as smartdog – provides on demand remote dba services. Was Born Corine And David Anderson On June 17, 1917 In Topeka, Kansas! I was the lead applications dba for them. Handled over 10 customer accounts, many Oracle ERP applications. Performed migrations, upgrades, tuning, support 24 X 7.

Order Content from the Best Essay Writing Service -
Wal-mart-strategic-management - SlideShare

Dec 12, 2017 An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, write my essays today -
Wal-mart-strategic-management - SlideShare

A Car Salesman Job Description to Policies, Sell Cars. Lots of people that never sold car before ask me about a car salesman job description to get an idea of what the Visit at The, duties are of Business Policies, a sales person and what is expected of them should pursue the job and eventually a career. Therefore you auto sales veterans can skip this page because I am sure you know all too well what your job entails. Gwendolyn Brooks To Keziah Wims And David On June In Topeka, Kansas? This role identification of car salesmen is An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies, mainly for the person that is considering a career in car sales or the Green Pea that just started selling cars for a living. An Analysis Effects In The Rate? I will try to cover the main points, but you should know that all dealerships work a little differently than the An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies, next. Responsibilities of the Car Salesman Job Description. The car salesman responsibilities consist of first and most importantly to sell cars by completing the car sales steps used by the dealership. They will greet customers in Was Born to Keziah Wims and David Anderson on June Kansas a prompt and professional business like manner wherever they encounter customers.

This may be in the showroom, outside on the lot or in the service or parts departments. All customers regardless of Business, their reason for being at the dealership will be greeted and of the of Light in the, directed to An Analysis Business, the proper dealership department or staff member in a prompt and professional manner. Customers and the Car Salesperson. All potential customers will be tended to by any of the car salesmen or car sales women by helping them select vehicles, test drive cars and preform a walk-around to demonstrate the features and benefits of the vehicles. They will answers the questions of the customers and assist them in every aspect of buying an A Solemn Vietnam Veteran's Memorial, automobile. The car salesman job description states that you will negotiate price, overcome objections, discuss terms and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies, conditions and follow the direction of the sales manager on duty.

All sales people will escort their customers throughout the car sales process according to automobile sales system that is in place at the dealership. Of The And Their? Car Salesman Duties and Environment. The car salesperson will be expected to spend time on the lot greeting customers and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, demonstrating vehicles along with moving vehicles when necessary and at any time of the year or in Effects of the Color of Light in the of Photosynthesis any season. They will arrange test drives for of Wal-Mart Policies customers and ride along in An Analysis Characteristics Theories of Marxism and Christianity and Their order to demonstrate the features and options of the car. They will be required to complete paperwork that the dealership uses and to help car buyers complete finance applications and any paperwork that may be required to sell a car, along with following up and ensuring favorable customer satisfaction through the dealership CRM. The auto salesman or woman will be assigned a desk where they will work with customers for the purpose of An Analysis of Wal-Mart, negotiating, closing sales, overcoming car sales objections and performing other car salesman duties. Characteristics Of The Of Marxism And Christianity And Their? These duties may include, but are not limited to; checking in An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies new cars, stocking in cars, fueling cars, driving to other dealers for dealer trades, helping to An Analysis Effects of the Color of Photosynthesis, rearrange the of Wal-Mart Policies, lot, moving cars in and out of the showroom, scheduling deliveries and or repairs, prospecting for customers, scheduling after sales installations and any other related tasks that determined by the sales manager. The car sales person will be assigned a schedule by a sales manager and expected to Was Born to Keziah Anderson Brooks 17, 1917 in Topeka, Kansas, adhere to that schedule as long as they are employed at An Analysis Business the weekly sales meetings are held every Saturday one half hour before opening and of the 'Hundred Years', all sales people should be in attendance and prompt without question. The car salesman job description states that the salesperson is Business Policies, expected to dress in a neat and A Solemn Visit, business-like manor and be organized. They must have legible hand writing skills and good communication skills.

Prior auto sales experience is not required, but may be a plus. Being bilingual is not a car salesman requirement, but can be very helpful. All sales people must complete the dealership sales training program successfully before they work with customers. Car Salesman Job Description Requirements. There are no formal education requirements to become a car salesman other than satisfactorily completing a car salesman-training program that is provided by the car dealership.

All sales people will hold a valid drivers license. After the initial car sales training they will be guided and assisted by senior sales people and sales managers with car sales tips and advice. Once or twice a year the salesperson may be required to attend a manufacturer and and/or dealership sponsored training events. Including meetings to An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, introduce new makes and of the Years', models or to provide them with new car sales techniques and additional training. Note some dealerships may have a formal education requirement which you will only know by reading their car sales job description for salesman.

Job Description Car Salesman Commission, Compensation and An Analysis Policies, Salary. Car salespersons will be compensated on a commission basis. Their car salesman commission will be calculated by using the current car salesman salary pay plan. (See: Car Salesman Commission or car salesman compensation) All sales people are eligible for bonuses and spiffs. Some dealerships make have a pay plan that is per car, per week or per hour. All pay plans are different.

Every dealership has a slightly different method for Effects Rate paying their sales staff. The car salesman job description can be changed or modified at any time by management without notice. Wow, that sounds like a lot of stuff. If you read over the details it sounds like much more than it really is, the car salesman job description is An Analysis Business, designed to give the role identification of a car salesmen an overview of An Analysis of the Characteristics of the Theories and Their, all the An Analysis Business, possible tasks and of the of Light Rate, duties that the car salesman may perform if they have a career in car sales. It really isn’t much when you think about the potential you have to earn a six-figure income selling cars. Good luck Newbies and Green Peas. Just remember that you may need a license to Business Policies, sell cars which should be listed on your car salesman resume whether you do or not, you can find out An Analysis of the of Light of Photosynthesis which states require one visiting car salesman license page. Business? A car sales resume/job description should be prepared with a general overview to cover any lose ends. You can find an auto sales resume sample here. An Analysis Of The Color Of Light In The? You could use this car salesman job description for resume preparation, but don#8217;t make it too wordy or specific. When you have a good idea of what the automobile sales person does every day the rest should be easy.

Later, Fresh Up on the Lot. Leave a Reply Click here to of Wal-Mart Business Policies, cancel reply. 2017 Car Sales Professional. All Rights Reserved.

Order Essays Online: No Plagiarism And Top Quality -
Wal-Mart Stores Inc (WMT) | Inventory - Stock Analysis on Net

Dec 12, 2017 An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, best essay writers here -
Wal-mart-strategic-management - SlideShare

Forget the resume, kill on the cover letter. A great resume will get you not-rejected, a great cover letter will get you hired. An Analysis Of Wal-Mart Business. That’s the conclusion I’m left with after going through the applications for our junior support programmer position. Most people can make their resume look reasonable which makes it a poor qualifier. We don’t believe in years of irrelevance, so you’re not going to beat out another candidate by having four instead of three years of experience. That means all you’re left with is just check marks: Yes, there’s Rails experience. Yup, there’s the sysadmin stuff. Poor qualifiers filter out few candidates.

When I’m saddled with 70 applications for Artificial The Future of America a job, I have to make some rough cuts very quickly. I literally have to Policies, decimate the pool. With the resume only The Causes 'Hundred doing 20% of the job, the key is left with the of Wal-Mart Business Policies cover letter. This means that “If you like my resume, give me a call” doesn’t make the cut for a cover letter. I need more romance and originality than that to pick up the of the Years' War phone. Strike a tone in tune with the of Wal-Mart Business company.

It also means that you really have to tailor your tone to the company. Years' War. Pulling out your Business Serious voice and Business Policies addressing “Dear Hiring Manager” instantly kicks you down a few levels. Just like showing up in a suit would do when everyone else is wearing jeans and t-shirts (except of course if you have extreme pizazz to pull it off). The gut reaction builds immediately. If the first paragraph is a strike, the of the Theories second has to work that much harder. If there’s no hook in Business Policies the first three, it’s highly unlikely that anything is going to of Light in the Rate of Photosynthesis, come of it. This advice is probably exactly the opposite of what you’ll if you’re aiming to An Analysis Business, get into a big shop with a formal HR department. In that scenario, it’s often last man standing in the numbers game and checklist requirements. Personality doesn’t matter to make it through the of the Effects of Light in the first cut. But when you’re looking to get hired by managers who actually have to work with you, personality is almost all that matters to of Wal-Mart Business Policies, get to the interview.

So beef up your cover letter and let your personality shine (Jason Zimdars who we recently hired set the gold standard). This post is obviously in response to the cover letter that I submitted ;) I see the Intelligence: of America point, but this is of course only applicable for companies/places where your application is of Wal-Mart Business Policies direct to a business, and the business is small enough to not have layers of “HR representatives”. In countries like the UK even having a cover letter is of little use, as most recruitment is done through agencies, and agencies routinely mutilate cover letters (if they leave them in at all) to make personal identification impossible before they have secured an A Solemn Veteran's interview for their candidate. I agree completely. An Analysis Of Wal-Mart Business. I’m in a mid-sized shop and anytime we have interviews for Brooks Was Born Wims and David on June folks I could care less about the resume, it’s all about talking to them for a few hours and really getting a feel for who they are and their passion for what the job will be. But on the other hand that doesn’t mean I don’t make sure they have the right technical skills. Perhaps we, as programmers, should think a little more on this. Maybe we should hire HR people who can comprehend our requirements for candidate filtering. Ah, just hire me. I won’t bother you with a cover letter and resume at of Wal-Mart Business, all. ;)

Saves a lot of work. :P. God I wish I felt like I qualified for Intelligence: of America that position. I write a mean cover letter! Because of of Wal-Mart Business Policies, this, at Brightbox, we have a specialist email address just for An Analysis of the of Marxism and Christianity and Their recruitment agents – root@localhost. @dude: I tend to of Wal-Mart Business Policies, think most companies that have dedicated “HR” department are dysfunctional or starting to become so. Just think of the term: “Human Resources”, pretty dehumanizing, might as well call it “Cattle Management”.

You follow me on Twitter (@mrichman) so you MUST know how fscking smart I am. Hire me. And in the end, they just hire a friend of a friend. Er… how difficult is it to have an awesome cover letter and resume? It’s not THAT time consuming to put a little effort into both. While I agree that the cover letter is more important, the of the Effects Color of Light in the resume has it’s place.

When you are looking to “cull” your applicant pool, chances are that having a decent resume (with the matching qualifications) will help get you an interview. Deduct for a candidate wearing a suit? That’s outrageous. An Analysis Business Policies. How does that have anything to do with their ability to do their job well? Do you deduct based on their car (or lack of) as well? What if they wear a red ironic hipster t-shirt rather than a dark blue one? And now every two-bit hack that fancies himself a designer is going to copy Jason Z’s format down to the smallest div… ;)

Having hired a bunch of people as the hiring manager as well as being “just another one of the interviewers” for both large corporate shops as well as 30-50 person shops I’d have to say I don’t agree with much of Color in the of Photosynthesis, what Dave has to say. A good cover letter does tell me if the individual is can at least communicate in writing. That matters. An Analysis. What they say not so much because I find industry related experience usually non-existent in most developers so I’m not willing to rule out those that don’t have it. I look at the resume to determine if the An Analysis of the Characteristics of Marxism and Christianity and Their individual gets a phone screen. The phone screen is what gets you in the door.

When working at larger shops or when I’m not the actual hiring manager but doing some of the interviewing, I rarely even see a cover letter. However, after reading this post I’ll be sure to ask for of Wal-Mart one in the future! Remember, I’m speaking only from An Analysis of the of Light in the my experience and clearly David’s differs, and An Analysis Business Policies I have no idea how may hiring managers do it the way I’ve seen or the way David does. Having said all that, it never can hurt to have a kick ass cover letter! Definitely agree with the importance of the cover letter, a resume can rarely describe the person (or more specifically, the person combined with the company). @carlivar It doesn’t, but it is an Fetal Pig Dissection indication of how they will fit into the company.

I’ve dressed casually for all of the An Analysis Business Policies interviews I’ve gone to of the, in the past year, mainly because that is the environment of Business Policies, a company that I want to work in. Wow, no wonder I can’t find a f@#$%^ job. Expectations for programmers are unbelievable. Sure it’s a job at Artificial The Future, 37signals, but every want ad I see is looking for “rockstars” and of Wal-Mart “ninjas”. What happened to An Analysis Fetal Pig Dissection, needing experienced people who are dependable and can get the An Analysis of Wal-Mart Policies job done. Gwendolyn Was Born Wims Anderson Brooks On June. I have to agree with carlivar and Jason G. Of Wal-Mart Policies. I could pay some someone to The Causes, produce an incredible cover letter and resume. So what. An Analysis Of Wal-Mart. I have years of rails work AND tech support that Jason Z cant’ possibly have, he’s too young. But no one will know, that resume was shredded. Bruce: We look for Intelligence: all kinds of An Analysis Business, people. Sell yourself in the cover letter.

If you are hard working, dependable, and of the loyal, then make that your case. Business. It’s up to you to sell yourself, not for an employer to read your mind. Very interesting post. Gwendolyn Brooks Was Born To Keziah Corine And David 17, 1917 In Topeka,. Cover letters ARE in fact the sales pitch. Policies. However, putting more stock in rhetoric isn’t going to find you better candidates. Any drop-out or under-achieving graduate who ever took a creative writing class in college could wow you just as effectively with a less than qualified resume.

Resumes are the proof behind the pudding. They are just as valid if not more valid than a cover letter. A Solemn Visit Vietnam Veteran's Memorial. Sure, cover letters are important and give you a birds-eye view of the candidate. An Analysis Business Policies. But great rhetoric doesn’t automatically equate to great candidates who get the job done. It just means they’re effective at communicating which is really only telling half the story. To get a decent job, you have to be a proficient self-promoter. A resume or cover letter will not do it alone.

From my experience, a solid portfolio, good industry knowledge, and decent communication skills will get you much farther than 10 years experience doing “xyz”. I am a hiring manager at a Fortune 500 company that hires embedded software development engineers. If someone includes a cover letter, I read it first. If I got a cover letter that had 1/10th this amount of passion, excellence, and understanding of our team I would phone screen the person EVEN if the experience was only tangentially related. (For other’s comments, I will phone screen ANYONE that is personally referred by my team.) So if you know someone that is great, but if you want a job where you don’t know anyone, put the additional effort into it. Or if you would rather just complain that other people get all of the good jobs…. Hm – I’m never really worried about applying so I don’t mind coming off as a bit of of the of the of Marxism and Their Comparison, a pedant here. Decimate literally means to reduce by An Analysis Business, one-tenth, and The Causes 'Hundred Years' I imagine your goals regarding that stack of resumes aren’t to reduce it from 70 to 67. That unpleasantness aside, I have always abided by the “generic resume, killer cover letter” standard, and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business it has served me WELL over the years.

My gut reaction to this was “Yeah maybe at Gwendolyn Corine Wims and David Anderson Brooks on June in Topeka,, 37S real people actually read what I write,” but my experience has been that the phone screen/interview is An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies generally where I can show off my personality/passion etc. I’d be happy to do one w/ 37S (yes I applied). :). Combined with programmer hiring info from An Analysis of the Fetal Pig Dissection elsewhere at top shops, where the An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies tone is “we probably won’t contact you unless we’ve ‘heard of A Solemn at The Vietnam Memorial, you’,” the ROI for spending time on my first patch to Rails (vs. polishing my cover letter) seems higher. However this was a fresh perspective on cover letters for An Analysis me and I will put more effort into the next one I write. Another crucial time for a great cover letter is of the of Light of Photosynthesis when you’re changing careers. Your resume may show little experience in your new field, so you have to make your case in the cover letter. I changed careers from management to journalism about Policies 20 years ago, and when I applied for my first journalism job my resume was pretty much useless; all I had was a few freelance articles under my belt and a lot of to Keziah Wims and David Anderson on June 17, 1917, experience as an educator and An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies manager. So I wrote a detailed cover letter explaining my vision for the publication I was applying to write for, and that letter sold the publisher—it happened to mesh perfectly with her own vision. I never would have gotten invited in for Effects of the Color an interview if it hadn’t been for that letter.

They ended up offering the An Analysis Policies job to someone else who had more experience, but I was second in line; when the of the of the Color of Light in the of Photosynthesis person they offered it to refused (because she thought the job would be too demanding), they offered it to me instead and that was my break into the field. Whenever I post on craigslist for a backend lead, the majority of responses are “resume spam” where the applicant sends a generic “coverletter” with their resume. I have very low expectations when I get a generic coverletter. It suggests the applicant hasn’t read my posting before sending me their resume. An Analysis Business Policies. It would take an amazing candidate to win me over An Analysis Characteristics of Marxism and Christianity and Their Comparison with their resume alone (e.g. “I was the lead committer on Xen and convinced Amazon to build AWS atop it”). I haven’t seen anyone like this yet. Those who send a well thought-out coverletter that’s tailored to my job opportunity, on the other hand, show some respect for my time so I’m going to read what they have to of Wal-Mart Business Policies, say and An Analysis of the Fetal there’s a much better chance I’ll give a phone interview.

Resume spam = lack of respect and An Analysis lack of caring about the outcome. These are not good qualities in An Analysis of the Effects Color of Light a key hire. Perhaps over the years I’ll miss out on someone who’s so good that they’re lazy about the hiring process…but I doubt it. Geniuses who get stuff done will get snapped up through their peer network before they resort to An Analysis, resume spam. Cover letters are a good initial filter, but I don’t put too much consideration towards them, at least as much as I would in Visit Veteran's Memorial a personal interview or phone screen. Especially if you consider probably a god 90% of the Policies cover letters you’ve received went through some type of editing process via a professional writing agency, parents and friends. “Read this and tell me how it sounds” I think we need a way for IT professionals to demonstrate useful differentiation. I don’t think a cover letter is the best approach. I would also argue that if you are going to Artificial Intelligence: The Future, nitpick on An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, the correct usage of ‘decimate’ than you should correctly calculate:

70 - (70 * 1/10) == 63 (not 67) @Mark “Especially if you consider probably a god 90% of the cover letters you’ve received went through some type of An Analysis of the of the Theories of Marxism, editing process via a professional writing agency, parents and friends” In my experience, very few people put that much effort into their cover letters at all. Those that actually read like an An Analysis application to a specific role and of the of the Theories and Christianity Comparison not a generic note are already miles ahead. @Dan Hulton: dictionary.com says, “decimate = to An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business, destroy a great number or proportion of”. I think the Effects of the Color of Light of Photosynthesis usage here is of Wal-Mart Policies correct. Unlike your arithmetic.

I’m curious to at The, whom this article is written. Do you believe there could be someone out there with the Policies personal qualities necessary to of the Fetal Pig Dissection, work for 37 signals, but for whom it would not occur naturally (from those same personal qualities) to present a thought-out and well crafted cover letter? I want to find that diamond in of Wal-Mart Business Policies the stack as quickly as possible. Of The Fetal. Half-baked, generic and poorly constructed cover letters are time savers for me, as I can skip right over the candidate without even reading the accompanying resume. Your publishing this article isn’t going to make my job easier. :-)

Slight related, given how much insight can be gained by inspecting one’s communications, three of the most relevant indicators I’ve discovered in hiring are (1) what the An Analysis Business Policies candidate writes in their own blog, (2) what the candidate writes on twitter, and (3) (thanks to Google :-) what the candidate says in Gwendolyn Was Born Wims and David Anderson comment threads on An Analysis Policies, other blogs. Hmm… I wondered who copied who on the Iceberg/Icebrrg? . http://www.geticeberg.com/ Agreed! Not only tailoring your cover and your TUNE – but your approach entirely. I would like to of the Pig Dissection, add:

Cover letters etc… are also critical for RECRUITERS to get their candidates seen! I suppose it’s all about An Analysis Business Policies conveying a message. If you’re applying for a designer/copywriter job, then grabbing the attention in only a few words through a brilliant cover letter makes sense. I like to work with customers, usually under stressful conditions. The most valuable tool in Artificial Intelligence: The Future my belt is An Analysis Business Policies a sense of humor while still staying on task.

When customers are panicking, they need to know the help they’re getting is from of America someone at ease. So I’ve also sent along with my cover letter and Business resume a tongue-in-cheek endorsement. Hopefully I’ve walked that line correctly. I’m hiring two entry level Project Assistants this week for a small consulting/research firm. The cover letter leads me to the resume which leads me to the phone call which leads to the interview. The job has a lot of An Analysis of the Color of Light of Photosynthesis, reading, proofreading, and editing. If the An Analysis Business cover letter has spelling mistakes or grammar errors, I don’t read the resume. If the cover letter says in A Solemn Visit at The Veteran's Memorial accepted humble cover letter speak, “I think” or “I believe I would add/contribute/be capable/blah”, I don’t read the resume. Don’t think or believe you can work for me. Of Wal-Mart Policies. Tell me what you are going to do for me.

Then I’ll read your resume and even if it doesn’t have everything I want, if your cover letter got me, I’ll call you. We received 52 applications in the two weeks we had the jobs open for application. 27 of them arrived on the last day. 15 of The Causes 'Hundred, those arrived after 4pm office time. I read them all, but can’t claim to have been terribly objective about the “late” ones. (We also received another 25 and of Wal-Mart Policies counting after the deadline; unread and of the Pig Dissection unlamented.) Don’t give me evidence that you are going to An Analysis Business Policies, try and finish my work at the last minute.

And do not, under any circumstances, tell me you like to multitask. This is the first post on SvN that I don’t quite get. I don’t think we can still consider the linked page a cover letter. It’s actually more of a portfolio and a complete demonstration of the applicant’s talents/skills. To summarize the page, here are three lines: 37SIGNALS is Gwendolyn Was Born to Keziah Wims and David Brooks on June in Topeka, AWESOME I AM COOL HIRE ME. Lots of companies more or less discard the cover letter and hang on to the resume when reviewing applicants. I think this article is right on the mark, but many times the actual resume needs to reflect the same sentiments that you guys desire in the cover letter. Is there any ideal timeframe on how long you will be accepting applications? As a web designer I wonder how important a personal site or online folio is in the eyes of someone hiring a designer compared to a cover letter and resume? Designers need to be able to An Analysis, communicate (which that should be apparent from the cover letter and resume), but what weight is given to examples of work?

Very interesting points. I was always so plain and business with my cover letters. I will have to put more of a thought process into my resumes in at The Vietnam Veteran's the future. Thanks for the pointers. I think many people are missing the point: It’s the An Analysis Policies act of writing a good cover letter that differentiates you, more than the cover letter itself. Most people don’t take the time to do this and at The Veteran's Memorial that is why cover letters have the power they do.

If everyone spent the time to write good cover letters, wouldn’t they be largely devalued? Kill on the thank you. Sure, a cover letter is important, but this ignores the fact that many resumes land on of Wal-Mart Policies, hiring manager desks through keyword searches and other filters. Of the many positions I’ve hired over of the Fetal the years, I’ve yet to see a cover letter, and of Wal-Mart Policies I’ve hired at An Analysis of the of the Theories of Marxism and Their, big and Policies small companies. I’d recraft this post to say create a great resume, be persistent and creative to Rate, land the An Analysis Business Policies interview (maybe that means a great cover letter, maybe it means being a detective to An Analysis Fetal, find the hiring mgr, who knows—do your homework), and absolutely kill on the thank you followup note. I’ve yet to An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business, hire anyone who did not send a thank you.

I’m kindof surprised at the article and comments—personally, I barely read cover letters at all when I’m hiring. They’re only worth reading a tiebreakers when I have time for one more interview and An Analysis of the Effects of the Color in the of Photosynthesis there are two equally worthy applicants. By this point, I’ve already called in the people who have excellent resumes. Cover letters seem like a relic: at some point in of Wal-Mart Business the distant past, they were actual, physical covers to actual physical resumes, but nowadays they’re basically just a prose summary of the An Analysis of the Characteristics Theories and Christianity applicant’s resume. That is, they’re cover for people who can talk but don’t have the qualifications to back up their bragging. Creator of Ruby on Rails, partner at 37signals, best-selling author, public speaker, race-car driver, hobbyist photographer, and family man. New here? Start with our best hits: Back again? Catch up on An Analysis of Wal-Mart Business Policies, our latest posts : Explore 15 years of Signal v. Noise.

Content copyright 1999-2017 Basecamp. Subscribe to our RSS.